THE Victoria Cross

The Victora Cross was awarded to 17 Irishmen who served in non Irish Regiments during the First World War. 


Maurice Dease, 4th Bttn, Royal Fusiliers - 23rd August 1914 at Mons, Belgium.


David Nelson, "L" Battery, Royal Horse Artillery - 1st September 1914 at Nery, France.


William Kenny, 2nd Bttn, Gordon Highlanders, 23rd October 1914 at Ypres, Belgium.


George Roupell, 1st Bttn, East Surrey Regiment, 20th April 1915 at Hill 60, Belgium.


Frederick Hall, 8th Bttn, CEF - 23rd/24th April 1915 at Ypres Belgium.


William Kenealy, 1st Bttn, Lancashire Fusiliers - 25th April 1915 at Gallipoli, Turkey.


George Boyd-Rochfort, 1st Bttn, Scots Guards - 3rd August 1915 at Cambrin, France.


John Caffrey, 2nd Bttn, Yorks and Lancs Regiment - 16th November 1915 at La Brique, France.  


Edward Bingham, Royal Navy - 31st May 1916 at the Battle of Jutland.


Martin O'Meara, 16th Bttn, AIF - 9th to 12th August 1916 at Pozieres, France.


Frederick Edwards, 12th Bttn, Middlesex Regiment (Duke of Cambridge's Own) - 26th September 1916 at Thiepval, France.


Frederick Harvey, Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians) - 27th March 1917 at Guyencourt, France.


Michael O'Rourke, 7th Bttn, CEF - 15th to 17th August 1917 at Hill 70, France.


Robert Hanna, 29th Bttn, CEF - 21st August 1917 at Hill 70, France.



Claude Nunney, 38th Bttn CEF - 1st/2nd September 1918 at Drocourt-Queant Line, France.


James Crichton, Auckland Infantry Regiment - 30th September 1918 at Crevecceour-le-Grand, France.

Further details:

'Irish Winners of the Victoria Cross', Richard Doherty and David Truesdale.

Print | Sitemap
© Combined Irish Regiments Association.